## VILLAGE OF HARRISON BOARD MEETING MINUTES 07/12/16

A meeting of the Village of Harrison board was convened on Tuesday, July 12, 2016 at 7:00pm in the Harrison Municipal Building with President Jim Salm presiding. After the Pledge of Allegiance was recited, roll was called.

Board present:	President Jim Salm, Trustees Joe Sprangers, Buddy Lisowe, Tyler Moore,
	Kevin Hietpas, Dave La Shay, Tamra Nelson
Staff present:	Planner Mark Mommaerts, Village Manager Travis Parish, Clerk Jennifer
	Weyenberg
Others present:	Katie Feucht, Diane Fassbender, Abby Grow, Gamila White, Paige Hoch
	(operator license appeals)

Motion by Trustee La Shay and second by Trustee Sprangers to meet in closed session pursuant to Wis. State Stats. §19.85 (1)(b) to consider dismissal, demotion, licensing or discipline of any public employee or person licensed by a board or commission or the investigation of charges against such person, or considering the grant or denial of tenure for a university faculty member, and the taking of formal action on any such matter for Operator Licenses Appeals; and pursuant to Wis. State Stats §19.85 (1)(g) to confer with legal counsel for the governmental body who is rendering an oral or written advice concerning strategy to be adopted by the body with respect to litigation in which it is or is likely to become involved for the Appleton settlement proposal; and pursuant to Wis. State Stats §19.85 (1)(c) to consider the employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility for the Interim Fire Chief; and pursuant to Wis. State Stats §19.85 (1)(e) to deliberate or negotiate the purchasing of public properties, the investing of public funds, or conducting other specified business, whenever competitive or bargaining reasons require a closed session for Developer's incentives for possible development and land purchase for extension of Blackoak St. Motion carried on roll call vote: Sprangersaye; Lisowe- aye; Moore- aye; Salm-aye; Hietpas- aye; La Shay- aye; Nelson- aye. No action was taken in closed session.

A motion was made by Trustee Nelson and second by Trustee La Shay to reconvene into open session pursuant to section 19.85(2) of the Wisconsin Statutes for action on the closed session: Motion by Trustee La Shay and second by Trustee Lisowe to approve the operator license appeals for Katie Feucht, Diane Fassbender, Abby Grow, Gamila White, Paige Hoch. Motion carried 7-0. Motion by Trustee Nelson and second by Trustee Hietpas to approve the Interim Fire Chief Salary at \$22,000. Motion carried 6-0 with Trustee Moore abstaining.

Correspondence or Communications from Board and Staff- Trustee Nelson shared concerns from residents at N9455 Sara Lane and W6761 Lydia Lane regarding drainage and ditch issues. Photos were submitted. These matters will be placed on the next Public Works Committee agenda. Trustee Hietpas quested if the ad hoc committees were open to the public and it was confirmed that they are. The public is welcome to attend. He also thanked staff at Avastone and Deputy Clerk Carie Krause for all of the hard work put into the updated website.

Consent Agenda- Minutes from 06/28/16 (VB), Payment of Bills and Claims, Applications for Operator License- Christopher Scott (Blue Sapphires), Katrina Franda (North Shore Golf Club), Jamie Eaton (Waverly Beach), Abigail Siebers (Waverly Beach), Anna Preissel (Waverly Beach), Elliot Verkuilen (Waverly Beach), Shawn Lukes (Waverly Beach), Lyla Goerl (Waverly Beach), Melanie Uecker (Waverly Beach), Samantha Jacobson (Waverly Beach), Sky Trader (Waverly Beach), Annual \$300.00 donation to Sherwood Lions Football program, Certificate for Payment #4 Final for 2015 Street Construction & Drainage Improvements: Operator Licenses for Christopher Scott and Shawn Lukes removed from consent agenda. Motion by Trustee La Shay and second by Trustee Moore to approve the remaining items on the consent agenda. Motion carried 7-0.

## Items removed from Consent Agenda:

Motion by Trustee Lisowe and second by Trustee Moore to deny the application for Christopher Scott based on two OWIs in the last 5 years. Roll Call vote: Sprangers- nay; Lisowe- aye; Moore-aye; Salm- nay; Hietpas- nay; La Shay- nay; Nelson- aye. The motion to deny failed.

After further discussion, motion was made by Trustee Sprangers and second by President Salm to approve the application for Christopher Scott. Roll call vote: Sprangers- aye; Lisowe- nay; Moore- nay; Salm- aye; Hietpas- aye; La Shay- aye; Nelson- nay. Motion to approve carried 4-3.

Motion by Trustee Hietpas and second by Trustee La Shay to approve the application for Shawn Lukes. Roll call vote: Sprangers- aye; Lisowe- nay; Moore- nay; Salm- aye; Hietpas- aye; La Shay- aye; Nelsonaye. Motion to approve carried 5-2.

Appraisal of Waverly Sanitary District property: The appraisal of the approximately 2 acres of land owned by Waverly Sanitary District came back at \$120,000. This was informational only; no action was taken.

Wetland delineation for CTH N and Manitowoc Rd. properties: Maps were presented to the board; no action was taken.

Creation of an ad hoc committee to research options for a new Fire Chief: Motion by Trustee Nelson and second by Trustee Hietpas to create ad hoc committee to evaluate options for Fire Chief. Village Manager T. Parish will bring names back to the next meeting of those wanting to serve on the committee. Motion carried 7-0.

Future Agenda Items: a discussion about the apportionment has been requested

There being no other business, a motion was made by Trustee La Shay and second by Trustee Sprangers to adjourn at 10:11pm. Motion carried 7-0.

Jennifer Weyenberg, Village Clerk Dated July 13, 2016 Approved July 26, 2016