

Harrison Fire Commission - Meeting Minutes



MEETING DATE	05/	05/01/2023		
FACILITATOR(S)	President Jon Zink			
MINUTES TAKER	Vice-Chairperson Kevin Rolain			
CALL TO ORDER	Meeting was called to order at 6:03 PM			
PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE	Recited			
ATTENDANCE	Those present checked.			
⊠ Gerl, Jarred (Chief)		⊠ Streck, Bob	☐ Pompa, Mike (Secretary)	
☑ Rolain, Kevin (Vice-Chairperson) ☑ Vandenboogaard, Jeff ☑ Zink, Jon (Chairperson)			⊠ Zink, Jon (Chairperson)	

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

DISCUSSON/PURPOSE	N/A
CONCLUSION/ACTION	

REVIEW AND APPROVE PAST MEETING MINUTES

PURPOSE	To ensure previous meeting minutes are accurate and reflective of intent.		
Discussion	Minutes from previous meeting (11/28/22) were reviewed and motion was made for approval.		
Action	Motion: Bob Streck	Second: Kevin Rolain	Passed via majority vote.

CORRESPONDENCE

DISCUSSON/PURPOSE	N/A
CONCLUSION/ACTION	

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

DISCUSSON/PURPOSE	N/A
CONCLUSION/ACTION	

NEW BUSINESS/TOPICS FOR DISCUSSION

Agenda Item	Captain Station 60 promotion		
Discussion	Commission discussed candidates and the promotion process. Motion was made to		
Discussion	promote Leon Probst to Captain with a one-year probationary period.		
Action	Motion: Jeff Vanderboogaard	Second: Bob Streck	Passed via majority vote.

Agenda Item	Lieutenant Station 60 promotion		
Diagrapian	Commission discussed candidates for promotion. Motion was made to promote Troy		
Discussion	Gillis with a one-year probationa	ary period.	
Action	Motion: Jon Zink	Second: Kevin Rolain	Passed via majority vote.

Agenda Item	New hire for EMS squad		
Discussion	Commission discussed candidate background and qualifications. Motion was made to		
Discussion	hire Tom Kempen with a one-year probationary period.		
Action	Motion: Bob Streck	Second: Kevin Rolain	Passed via majority vote.

Agenda	ltem	Selection of Commission officers – Commission Chairperson		
Discuss	ion	Commission discussed officer positions. Jon Zink was nominated for Commission Chairperson		
Actio	n	Motion: Jeff Vanderboogaard	Second: Bob Streck	Passed via majority vote.

Agenda Item	Selection of Commission officers – Commission Vice-Chairperson		
Discussion	Commission discussed officer positions. Kevin Rolain was nominated for Commission Vice-Chairperson		
Action	Motion: Jeff Vanderboogaard	Second: Jon Zink	Passed via majority vote.

Agenda Item	Selection of Commission officers – Commission Secretary		
Discussion	Commission discussed officer positions. Jeff Vanderboogaard was nominated for		
Discussion	Commission Secretary		
Action	Motion: Bob Streck	Second: Jon Zink	Passed via majority vote.

MEETING ADJOURNMENT

CONCLUSION/ACTION	Motion: Jon Zink	Second: Kevin Rolain	Passed via majority vote.